Tohoku Questions


The Tohoku Region is situated in the north of Japan's Honshu island and comprises of six prefectures.

  • Questions
  • Overview
About Tohoku

The Tohoku Region (隴夲スア陋ケ諤懈・隴・スケ, T・・エ椀ku Chih・・・ literally "North East Region") encompasses six prefectures renowned for their rustic charm, majestic mountains, serene lakes, and rejuvenating hot springs. This idyllic landscape, coupled with the region's reputation for producing high-quality rice, has long attracted nature enthusiasts and culinary aficionados alike. However, Tohoku's rugged beauty is tempered by its harsh winters, which add a touch of resilience to its allure.

Despite its natural splendor, the Tohoku Region bore the brunt of the devastating earthquake and tsunami on March 11, 2011, particularly along its Pacific coast. The catastrophic event left a profound impact on the region, reshaping communities and landscapes. Yet, amidst the trials and tribulations, the indomitable spirit of Tohoku perseveres, as communities work tirelessly to rebuild and revitalize. Today, as Tohoku continues its journey of recovery, its resilient soul remains a testament to the unwavering strength and unity of its people.